Synopsis: remove [OPTIONS] [FILES]
Removes a file from a project. Normally, the file itself is removed from disk when you invoke this command (but see -f). Although this command operates recursively by default, it is common to explicitly name the files being removed. Note the odd implication of the previous sentence: Usually, you run cvs remove on files that don't exist anymore in your working copy.
Although the repository is contacted for confirmation, the file is not actually removed until a subsequent commit is performed. Even then, the RCS file is not really removed from the repository; if it is removed from the trunk, it is just moved into an Attic/ subdirectory, where it is still available to exist on branches. If it is removed from a branch, its location is not changed, but a new revision with state dead is added on the branch. (See also add.)