next up previous contents
Next: CVS Administration Notes Up: CVS Version Control for Previous: Rolling Back Web Site   Contents


After a Project

When you make a working copy of a site, the CVS system makes a note that you're working on it. When you're done contributing to a project, it's polite to tell the CVS site repository that you are not using your working copy of the site anymore. This is accomplished via the cvs release command, which has the added benefit of alerting you to any changes you might have made to your working copy but forgotten about before you could commit them to the site repository. Here's an example of running the cvs release command and learning that you may have some additional new content to upload:

$ cvs release provenwinners.com 
M index.shtml
You have [1] altered files in this repository.
Are you sure you want to release directory `provenwinners.com': n
** `release' aborted by user choice.

You may then take additional steps to commit your altered file to the site repository before releasing it once and for all (probably by just typing cvs commit on the spot). Here's the same cvs release situation with no hassle, no new files from your working copy to add to the site repository:

$ cvs release provenwinners.com
You have [0] altered files in this repository.
Are you sure you want to release directory `provenwinners.com': y

It is now safe (and wise) to delete your working copy of the site, until you need to work with it again (which you can easily do so via the cvs checkout process).


next up previous contents
Next: CVS Administration Notes Up: CVS Version Control for Previous: Rolling Back Web Site   Contents

copyright © 1997-1999 sean dreilinger.