next up previous contents
Next: Committing Your Work to Up: Adding and Removing Files Previous: Adding Files   Contents

Removing Files

To remove files from a site, you run the cvs remove command on the desired filenames in your working copy. As a ``safeguard'', cvs remove will not work if the files still exist in your working copy:

$ cvs remove oldfile.html 
cvs server: file `oldfile.html' still in working directory
cvs server: 1 file exists; remove it first
$

To get around this, you may use the -f option with the cvs remove command:

$ cvs remove -f oldfile.html 
cvs server: scheduling `oldfile.html' for removal
cvs server: use 'cvs commit' to remove this file permanently
$

This will not delete the actual files from the CVS server yet, it simply makes a note to tell the server to remove these files the next time you commit your working copy of the project (Section 6). Although you will remove the selected files from the latest version of the site when you commit your changes, the ``removed'' files are still available from CVS site server, to anyone who knows how to request an older version of the site (Section 9).

When you're finished editing, adding, and removing files, you must remember to commit your work to the CVS site repository--especially if you have completed your task or have reached an important milestone you wish to share with the other site authors. Section 6 shows how to commit your work to the site repository.


next up previous contents
Next: Committing Your Work to Up: Adding and Removing Files Previous: Adding Files   Contents

copyright © 1997-1999 sean dreilinger.